6.1 - Discovery and Analysis

Follow
6.1.1 - Discover Items 6.1.2 - Pre-migration Checks
6.1.3 - Processing 6.1.4 - Synchronization
6.1.5 - Reset Items 6.1.6 - Erase
6.1.7 - History  

 

6.1.1 - Discover Items

Select a migration task from the ‘Migration Tasks’ panel on the left. Click the “Discover” button in the ‘Discovery’ area and the select "New Discovery" from the dialog box.


FIGURE_65_-__START_DISCOVERY_FOR_SOURCE___ITEMS.png

 

Migration Accelerator will start discovering items from the source system and record their status in the staging database repository.


FIGURE_66_-__DISCOVERY_RUN_OF__SOURCE__ITEMS.png

 

Note: Any modification done to the source items after Discovery has completed will not be reflected in the application until a new Discovery has been run. See the Synchronisation section for information about delta discoveries.

 

6.1.2 - Pre-migration Checks

The pre-migration check feature identifies any potential issues with the discovered items that might affect your migration. You can start the pre-migration check by selecting the "Check" button from the Content Analytics section of the Execution tab.

This will then present you with a screen to configure the check parameters, this allows you to modify the rules if you have any custom requirements.

Once you're happy with the settings you can click the "Run" button to begin the Pre-Migration Check.

 

FIGURE_67_-__PRE-MIGRATION__CHECKS.png

The results of the check can be seen in the Power BI report.

6.1.3 - Processing

After successful discovery of all items present in the source system, click the "Process" button in the ‘Processing area’ in order to start the content migration. This will launch the processing parameters popup window in which you can configure the processing parameters.

FIGURE_69_-__CONFIGURE_PROCESSING__PARAMETERS.png

The available parameters cover:

  1. Process to stage – The migration takes a stage-by-stage approach to migration, meaning that it's possible to process items up to a particular stage and then continue from where it left off later.
    1. Capture Metadata – This stage captures the metadata of all the items from the source system.
    2. Classify – This stage performs the content classification of all items based on the content type mappings defined in the migration task settings. This stage may retrieve the file content if required in order to perform content-based classification.
    3. Filter – This stage is intended to facilitate the use of advanced item filter rules in order to skip certain items in migration. This is not applicable for most systems.
    4. Extract – This stage is intended to extract additional metadata from the file content. This is not applicable on most systems.
    5. Transform – This stage mainly transforms any source metadata to it's target metadata representation by executing different metadata mapping rules. This stage may retrieve the file content if required in order to perform transformation.
    6. Load – This stage retrieves the file content if it has not yet been obtained in earlier stages and performs the upload of the content and metadata to the target system.
  2. Type of items to process
    Here you can find the Process Errors flag which tells the application to reprocess any items that had failed previously.

  3. Throttling parameters
    This section allows you to throttle the application either performance or item wise.
    1. Maximum number of items to process – Allows you to select the maximum number of items that will be processed in the processing run.
    2. Maximum number of threads – Allows you to select the maximum number of threads to use during migration, in simple terms this is the number of concurrent item loads that can occur at a time. Increasing the thread count corresponds with an increase in through-put but can lead to a higher load on the migration and target systems.

Once all processing parameters have been selected click the “OK” button to start the migration or click the “Cancel” button to cancel the processing.

Upon clicking the “OK” button the application will start processing each item based on the mapping rules that you have defined. The progress of the migration will be displayed in the processing dialog screen as shown below.

The "Successful items" count shows the number of items that have successfully processed up to the target stage in the current processing run.

The "Errors" count shows the number of items that have failed in the current processing run.

If you have enabled package processing you will see the number of items successfully packaged on the left hand side, once these items have loaded onto the target and been verified the success count will go up appropriately.

 

FIGURE_70_-__PROCESSING_COUNT_OF__SOURCE__ITEMS.png

6.1.4 - Synchronization      

Proventeq Migration Accelerator supports one-way synchronization from most source systems to Office365/SharePoint.

If any items have been modified on the source system after the corresponding task has been discovered and/or processed, you can perform a new discovery on the task to discover the changes items. This is often referred to as a delta discovery.

 

6.1.5 - Reset Items

The ‘Reset’ functionality is available to remove any items loaded on to the target system by the application.

From the ‘Processing’ area in the ‘Execution’ tab, click the ‘Reset’ button. This will pop up a “Configure Processing parameters” screen where user can select the number of items to reset and the number of threads to execute this action. Click the “Ok” button to initiate the Reset action.

 

FIGURE_71_-__RESET_OF__ITEMS.png

 

On completion of this process all relevant items will be deleted from the target system

Reset Items – Progress dialog

 
FIGURE_72_-__REST_TARGET__ITEMS.png

 

Warning: This action will delete all of the content loaded by Migration Accelerator as part of the selected migration task. The user can however re-run the load to reload the items if required. This action will not delete any items that were not originally loaded by Proventeq Migration Accelerator.
 

6.1.6 - Erase

Clicking on the “Erase” button deletes all of the discovered items related to the selected Migration Task from the database. Any data loaded to the target will remain as is however the application will no-longer know whether it had loaded them. It's advisable to perform a “Reset” to rollback the loaded items from the target before clicking on the “Erase” button, alternatively if an “Erase” operation has already been done the has already been done the items can be manually deleted from the target.

Start erase of selected task

FIGURE_73_-__START_ERASE_OF__SELECTED__TASK.png

Erase items

FIGURE_74_-__ERASE_ITEMS.png 

6.1.7 - History

A ‘History’ button is available on each area for Discovery and Processing. Clicking on this button brings up a screen that list all of the actions that were performed on that migration task along with date the action was performed and the outcome of that particular action.

 

 

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful

Comments